Virtue: Live by Your Own Truth


Whatever this means to you, keep it, and hold it close. Fight for it. Stand up for it and represent it well in all your acts and conduct.

Your virtue is what you must live by. It is personal and deeply meaningful to you.

Virtue can often mean moral excellence or conformity to a standard of right. But your virtue is your own and what ultimately governs your life.

What makes you, you?

What helps you stay centered while still growing and improving?

“Virtues” are attitudes, dispositions, or character traits that enable us to be and to act in ways that develop our potential. They enable us to pursue the ideals we have adopted. Honesty, courage, compassion, generosity, fidelity, integrity, fairness, self-control, and prudence are all examples of virtues. – Santa Clara University

A virtuous person is someone who is kind across many situations over a lifetime because that is her character and not because she wants to maximize utility or gain favors or simply do her duty. – University of Tennessee

The dictionary defines kindness as ‘the virtue of showing love’ and the qualities of having a sympathetic, affectionate, warmhearted and considerate nature.

“The study of various writings of philosophers and significant leaders in China, South Asia, and the West led to the postulate of six ubiquitous core virtues, namely courage, justice, humanity, temperance, wisdom, and transcendence.” (Dahlsgaard et al., 2005)     

What is the strongest virtue?

“Courage is the most important of the virtues, because without it, no other virtue can be practiced consistently.” Said Maya Angelou.                                 

What can destroy Virtue? (1) moral virtues are destroyed by too much (excess) or too little (deficiency) of one kind of action, (2) pleasure and pain are a test of virtue.  -Aristotle’s Virtue Ethics (Nicomachean Ethics)             

A Founding Member of the USA, Ben Franklin, stated:  What are the 13 virtues to live by?

His list of 13: Temperance, Silence, Order, Resolution, Frugality, Industry, Sincerity, Justice, Moderation, Cleanliness, Tranquility, Chastity and Humility.

From an academic standpoint: What are the 12 intellectual virtues?

They include: intellectual responsibility, perseverance, open-mindedness, empathy, integrity, intellectual courage, confidence in reason, love of truth, intellectual humility, imaginativeness, curiosity, fair-mindedness, and autonomy.

The point being: define your virtue clearly and live by it. Hold your honor! Be true to yourself and what you believe in.

Origins Unity helps individuals, groups, and organizations work through the 52 virtues and related exercises to clearly define ourselves, our strategic vision and how we will lead others.

It is a major area of wellness. The center of our wellness is our Personal Values, and these must be clearly defined in order to live out one’s full potential, and to feel happy, fulfilled and liberated.

2b8d05 1324a89da6f945138a64ccb944e485c5 mv2

The key domains from the Eight Domains of Wellness Framework that this subject includes are: Emotional, Social, Personal Values (Spiritual in the NWI 6 Domains Wheel), Environmental (we influence and are influenced by our environments), Occupational, Intellectual. And it will also likely determine the rest of our wellness (Physical, Emotional, Social, Personal Values, Environmental, Occupational, Intellectual, Financial).

Live by your Virtue. Always.

Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore